Life, Back to
Normal Fast®

Water Damage Restoration Classifications

Water damage in your Minneapolis home can come from many different sources. Water can also have different levels of contamination, depending on its source. Water is considered contaminated if it contains any level of pollution that renders it unsafe for basic use. Water damage from contaminated water not only causes damage to your home, but also poses serious health risks. Before any water damage restoration services can begin, it is important to identify the type of water you are dealing with so that adequate measures are taken to ensure safe and sanitary cleanup.

Water Damage Restoration In Minneapolis

Category 1 Water

Water is classified as Category 1 Water when it comes from a clean source, such as faucets, water heaters, pipes, and toilet tanks. Because it is not supposed to carry any harmful contaminants, category 1 water is termed ‘clean water.’ While generally harmless to your health, water damage from category 1 water can cause quite a bit of harm to your home – especially if it is left to sit. Within 24-48 hours following water damage, mold will begin to grow. If left longer than that, category 1 water damage will degrade into category 2 water. 

Category 2 Water

Category 2 water damage comes from a source that contains a significant degree of biological and chemical contaminants. This type of water can be harmful upon ingested, and even with contact. This type of water is termed ‘gray water’ because of the harmful microorganisms it carries. Sources of gray water could be toilet bowls not containing feces, seepage from hydrostatic failure, washing machines, showers, and dishwashers. Specific decontamination techniques paired with proper cleaning agents are required for water damage repair of category 2 water. It is very important to avoid any contact with category 2 water, and make sure that professionals handle all water damage restoration. 

Category 3 Water

The last category of water is definitely the most dangerous. Category 3 water, or ‘black water;’ is grossly contaminated water. This type of water contains toxic pathogenic substances, and harbors bacteria, chemicals, ground materials, and disease-causing organisms. Sources of category 3 water include: sewage, toilet water containing feces, seawater, river water, and any other external source of flood water. Category 3 water is extremely dangerous and harmful, and requires the use of personal protective gear along with specialized extraction, drying, dehumidification, and sanitation equipment and materials. Contact with this water may cause serious health effects, even death. Restoration becomes pretty crucial at this point.

No two cases of water damage are the same. With the proper training, equipment, certification, and protection, the professionals at ICC will be able to determine which type of water damage your home has received. Then, with proper inspection, our certified technicians will be able to begin the restoration process – ensuring that all safety measures are met and followed. Because different sources of water contribute to different levels of damage, it is important to let experienced professionals handle all water damage restoration  services regardless of the cause. ICC is ready to meet all your water damage restoration needs in Minneapolis and surrounding areas.


Read More Articles